How to - 986 Cruise Control Retrofit

JonHoward42

Since first getting my Boxtser (MY2000 986 2.7) a few years ago, I wanted to get cruise control installed and functional. It's one of those little luxuries I find incredably useful in modern driving with the enevitable long journeys, increasing numbers of average speed cameras, etc so after some research, I went ahead and did the retrofit.

At this point, I'd like to point out this is my experience of installing cruise to my own car - different model years have slightly different requirements, small wiring changes and differing coding specifics. I'm by no means an expert in the Boxster electrical system, but I managed to piece this information together from various websites, forums, the Pelican Parts Book "101 Project for your Porsche Boxster" and a healthy dose of good old common sense.

Before going ahead, I'd recommend anyone attempting this retrofit have a look around forums and the Pelican Parts website/book. A couple of useful links to get you started:

Basically, the following is what worked for me, your car might be different. I'm offering no guarantees! :-)

The main steps I followed were:

- Getting all the necessary parts together

- Disassembly

- Fitting new 4-stalk unit

- Creating, routing and connecting a new wiring loom

- Reassembly

- Coding & testing

I've tried include as much detail as possible (along with photos) so this may turn into quite a long thread. I'll break it up into a few posts.

OK, let's begin.

Part 1 - The shopping list

These are the main parts I had to buy:

- 1 x 4-Stalk Cluster (996.613.219.10 EWC)

- 1 x Cruise Stalk Cap (996.613.505.00 A01)

- 1 x Wiper/Cruise Stalks Grommet (993.552.573.01 01C)

- 1 x Cruise Stalk Wiring Connector (999.650.512.40)

- 10 x Wiring Pins (999.652.901.22) - you only 8, but get a couple of spares

- 1 x VW Wiring connector (000-979-010-E)