battery flat part solved

graham964

Hi All

I thought its not raining so time to wake the car from its three month sleep. My car is connected to a ctek charger so no problem, or so I thought!

Using the fob I got a lethargic pulse from the car but no signs of opening and then I noticed the ctek charger appeared to be off and did not show the usual array of yellow lights. Not a big issue so I pushed the mode button a few times, to set to car with agm, and the lights came on the charge unit, but no sign of charging. The red LED in the car at the cigarette lighter refused to flash and then I noticed all the lights on the ctek charger had gone off. No problem I thought I will unlock the car with the key which I have never done before, however after liberating the key from the fob and lifting the drivers door handle I thought the problem was solved. Alas no, when I turned the key I could hear something going on but the car did not unlock. This problem was starting to get serious.

Luckily for me the Ctek lead was connected so I cut off the connector going into the car and then measured the voltage and resistance which somewhat worryingly was 0Volts and 24kohms, the latter gave me some encouragement as at least it wasn't open circuit indicating that I hadn't broken the cable, when I shut the car door a few months ago. I then got another charger which sensed 0V and refused to charge, very fortunately for me I had another very old charger devoid of electronics and connected this and after putting it to high charge rate (bad for batteries I know) it started to charge and after ten minutes I attempted via the fob to open the door and eureka the lock opened and although the window didn't drop I could get in to the car.