Knocking noise on 2006 Boxster S 987.1

Ross67

Good morning all, newbie here. I have a technical question I'm hoping someone may be able to help with. I recently bought a lovely Boxster S 3.2 ltr 987.1. The car is in stunning condition, low mileage (55k) drives as a 987S should (I've had a couple in the past and keep coming back to them!) and burns no oil. However, over the last few weeks I've noticed a very slight knocking noise coming from the engine area. I've had the car 'scoped and there's no sign of bore scoring, and it's a 2006 registered car so past the IMS problem era (I believe). The knocking noise is most noticeable at around 3k revs in second and third gear when the engine is slightly labouring. It doesn't appear to be getting worse but I'm concerned it may progress over time.

Is it possible the noise might not be engine related at all and something less painfully expensive? Someone did mention potential big end knock, which would result in a full rebuild at some point. How likely could this be on the 3.2 engine?

It could be a mount or I'm wondering if part of the exhaust might be causing something similar to engine knock. When in higher revs there no sound of it at all and the car pulls as it should. I'm possibly clutching at straws hoping there's not a engine rebuild needed in the future.

8 hours ago, Menoporsche said:

Does it knock in neutral? I know you said labouring. Just wondering about eliminating wheel bearing etc.