Dealer finance rates

Ernie66

Has anyone taken out a PCP finance deal from their dealer recently? I am looking to buy a new Boxster and have been offered a PCP at 7.7%. Is this a good rate or not? I'd be interested to hear what anyone else has been offered so I know if I'm getting a good deal.

That seems a bit extreme when you can borrow at 3.6% unsecured from Nationwide.

Isn't PCP the most expensive way of financing a car ? I am no expert though.

Unless of course it triggers discounts that are not available otherwise.

I remember someone posted on the forum that they arranged a PCP to get any dealer/manufacturer discounts that were tied to taking Porsche (VAG) finance, then pay back within a month or so with another cheaper form of borrowing.

The appeal of PCP is to get the monthly payments down to as low as possible, personal loans cannot compete.

Try one of those broker firms, worst case kick the Porsche dealer with their rates if they are cheaper.

S

You cant get a personal loan for 40k anyway can you?

PCP with Porsche aka VW Finance is around 7.5 to 10% at Porsche and a bit less any other VAG dealer..

Had a chat with my OPC about a Cayenne and got some finance quotes...he said some favour lease purchase instead of PCP (can't remember the pros and cons now TBH)

..unless you pay it back earlier by overpaying, the mortgage will not work out much less, went through the figures a couple of days ago :}

Longer term loan at lower rate = less per month but as much overall due to longer term (and you cant predict the future mortgage rate either)