Sticky hard to turn ignition

Shippers01

Hi all newbie here. I have 2001 boxter 986 S, and the ignition is starting to get hard to turn. Can anyone advise of any indy or other garages in portsmouth or southampton area that will be able to help. Guess i am looking at new ignition barrel? Many thanks.

Jason

I had this recently - I thought the whole lock was broken. turned out to be the ignition switch. That is a simple DIY swap and the switch is cheap. the hardest part is getting the grub screws out which you kinda have to do blind but its simple. 

Thanks for replies. If it is the switch then at least that will be cheaper!! The reason i thought it was barrel was because ir was getting hard to turn and when i took key out other day i had to wait till it clicked back so i could put key back in again??? If it is switch can someone tell where to get one and what part number i need?? Electrics scare me!!!

I had this problem too but on mine there was no warning ,I came to park up and the ignition switch would turn  but freely with no resistance , but it wouldn't turn off the ignition , so I had to stall the car but the ignition was still on , mines a 2004 3.2 , had it recovered to revolution at Leeds and sadly it was the whole unit on mine , but I think on the earlier cars as mentioned it's a cheap but fiddly fix , good luck with it 

My symptom was that the key suddenly turned far too much and straight after this, the electrics started doing some strange things unless I rotated the key back to it’s normal position.

I got this part # from EuroCarParts:

It was £15 after applying one of their discount codes.

My ignition just feels stiff when you turn the key not loose or turn to far just stiff. Kevs i will get part, is it a porsche part??? I believe i saw somewhere maybe vw part fits??? Think it was on here somewhere i saw few days ago before i joined forum?? Also is it a fairly easy job apart from being fiddly? Happy to have go!!