Outdoor car covers?

andygo

My 981 Cayman GTS lives outside and constantly attracts dust on the paintwork. I had thought about a car cover in the past but have been put off by the thought of putting a cover on a car that might not be 100% clean and grit fee.

However, just noticed this company:  https://richbrook.co.uk/product/stormguard-tailored-4-layer-outdoor-car-covers/

Anyone had any experience of them?

Edited by andygo

I haven't got any experience of these, or any other covers, and I've got the same problem as you, but with added bird poo as well... :lol:  We live in the countryside, surrounded by fields, with regular combine harvesters and tractors working all around our village.  However, I wouldn't use a car cover, because I'm sure it would scratch the paintwork, no matter how soft it is, .  Obviously I'm no expert, and it's only my personal opinion, which is worth very little around here....  I will continue to carefully remove the poo with a soft wet sponge as soon as I see it, and regularly wash the car when it needs it (which - of course - also risks scratching the paintwork......).  I'm not obsessive, and probably wash the car about once a fortnight, which is enough to keep it in decent condition.

disagree on covers. 

had one on my Boxster 4 years now and no issues. 

always cleaned and dried before covering. 

polished and waxed

remove cover in windy weather 

• 3 weeks later...
6 hours ago, Virglas said:

Had a genuine Porsche cover....Never again...car was covered in light scuffs after one winter.....took ages to get them out.....

I don't see how if car is clean, dry and waxed. Admittedly I am very fastidious in my cleaning regime when covering and storing (the cover)

18 minutes ago, Pinewood said:

I don't see how if car is clean, dry and waxed. Admittedly I am very fastidious in my cleaning regime when covering and storing (the cover)