Clank sound from rear O/S

Obela

Hello chaps,

Been a passive member of this forum for 2-3 years now. This is my first post so please be kind :) 

I've had a clank sound from rear O/S on my 05 3.2 Boxster S for a while now and would really like to get to the bottom of it. The car had several inspections in the last 2 years, including a service at Porsche recently, and no issues had been reported. No leaking from shocks, no badly warn bushings or play in any suspension components. I’ve replaced the tuning forks at a local indi which didn’t help at all with the noise. 
I’ve decided to investigate myself today. Now I’m no mechanic and do not proclaim to have any particular mechanical knowledge, but I also could not find any play in the suspension when the car was on a jack and the wheel off, nor could I replicate the knock sound from the suspension. 
What I did find, however, was a play in the drive shaft when I pulled and pushed on it in the direction towards and away from the gearbox, and the end of the play on both sides made a metal on metal sound, which I thought was quite similar to what I am hearing while driving. 
question is - is such play is normal? I’m assuming the drive shaft must be able to have a bit of a play in that direction, but is the metal knock normal or should it be dampen by grease normally? I could not see any breaks in the CV boots or any signs of leaking grease. 

would really appreciate some advice in the matter as I gather it’s quite a big job to rebuild the inner CV joint and very expensive if drive shaft needs replacing, and would like to avoid it if it’s not the source of my problem… 

Any help would be much appreciated!

Omri

The drive shaft movement you describe sounds normal as the shaft has to be able to slide in and out a little with the up/down suspension movement.  My only other immediate thought is whether the spring is correctly seated in the platform on the shock.  I'm sure others will be along with thoughts soon.