Advice on new exhaust

siddleg

Hi 

I'm fairly new to boxster ownership and finding myself needing a new exhaust system who do you recommend? I'm thinking manifolds, sport cats etc but not sure who to trust as lots on eBay that seem reasonably priced then design 911 seem a bit expensive.

Help 

thanks in advance 

I haven’t tried them personally but intend too but I have heard from others on here that you can’t go far wrong with a system or backbox from Carnewal.  The Carnewal GT system is really reasonable too and based on an exchange with your original back box

They cheapy eBay manifolds are fine. Used now on both my Boxsters since 2012. 

11 hours ago, siddleg said:

Hi 

I'm fairly new to boxster ownership and finding myself needing a new exhaust system who do you recommend? I'm thinking manifolds, sport cats etc but not sure who to trust as lots on eBay that seem reasonably priced then design 911 seem a bit expensive.

Help 

thanks in advance 

What have you got on now? What type of driving do you do?  Is the existing exhaust too quiet, too loud, to droney  etc etc?.

So that the headers taken care of then if the eBay one's are ok.

The existing exhaust/cat is leaking bringing up a warning light so need to go. System is original to car apart from the o2 sensors. 

I would like to buy a full system so then it's done it's just which to get and where from main requirement is that it's not too loud. 

36 minutes ago, Saxosim said:

Does anyone make a valve switchable system for the 986 so you have the option of normal or insane mode?

I love the idea of having an ‘insane’ button on the dash ?

There are some mentions on Design 911... for example...

EXHAUST MUFFLER / SILENCER SPORT OE STYLE WITH ADJUSTABLE SOUND VALVES. PORSCHE 986 BOXSTER

Code: 98622094335SSOUND

Back on my PC so I could get a link more easily...

http://www.design911.co.uk/fu/prod129782/Exhaust-Muffler---Silencer-Sport-OE-Style-with-adjustable-sound-valves-Porsche-986-Boxster/