718 T The story so far

T Box

Just a few impressions thus far on my T and an insight in to the mini saga that has been my ownership experience.

Noise - I appreciate a contentious one but I have no experience of a 6 pot Boxster but find the turbo 4 to be throaty enough. I find it does not help that the cabin is actually well insulated and outside of the car its much louder. Give it some beans, time your downshifts and it sounds pretty good to me.

Performance - 0-60 officially I think is 5.1 secs for this car but honestly it piles speed on seriously quickly  - number of times you look at the speedo doing a great deal more than you thought you were but it does not feel like it. Dropping a cog or two to overtake no problems and great noise. Carries speed through corners so well.

Handling - its superb I have never had as much confidence in a car pushing it in to corners. Turn in is so tight,

Comfort / Ride - actually amazed by this car. More comfy than my M140i. I run mostly in sport mode and on some bumpy B roads and it just breezes around without feeling wallowy which I find brilliant standard seats in mind are brilliant and comfortable too.

Gearbox - 6 speed manual for me and its really really good. The shifts are crisp but its the extra reward you can earn yourself by really mastering this gearbox. After every journey you feel you can improve your shifting and use of the box on the next one - a nice little challenge to myself every time I drive it. The clutch is excellent, not light but not heavy really nicely weighted. I know there is a lot of love for the PDK but I just could not get on with it - it wont do what I want it to do enough of the time on the twisty stuff.