Should I buy a 986

T2EY L

Hello all, I'm Trey. 

First of all I'm new to the world of Porsche. I've always loved them and have been fantasising about owning a 930 turbo for many years. I like the air cooled my wife and my pocket doesn't. But I use to dream about building a classic looking beauty with some modern mods, but that's a dream I will be forever chasing. 

So 930 is out of the question but I have been thinking about a Boxster. I know, big different in car but I can't afford the one I want, and I would like to continue with my track days. So I am thinking 986 and over time creating something special over time. I don't know much about the Boxster so I'm hoping for a bit of advice things to look out for when buying and once brought etc.

Thanks in advance  

The answer will probably be "yes" on this board :)

Several here have them and track them, often with no modifications whatsoever.

Will you expect to have it only as a second/track car, or daily use also?

Look for one with refreshed suspension (original 986 suspension now very tired) and with smaller rather than larger wheels, to buy cheaper tyres. That's my tuppence.

Have fun looking :)

Thanks for the reply. I wasn't sure where to post it, I figured it may be a little one sided here. 

This will be my daily driver as well as weekend/track toy. I haven't thought about mods yet I think I'll wait until I've got it. 

Thanks 

Just now, Ringo said:

New to the world of Porsche myself but already my Boxster is proving it's worth. Highly recommended.

What one did you get? and do you have any info on things I need to worry about in my purchase ? 

Thanks

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1998-PORSCHE-BOXSTER-WHITE-986-not-911-cayman-/272335172990?_trksid=p2047675.l2557&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&nma=true&si=vOuRtOhmfjAoq3zGF2%2F%2B%2Bcrey1M%3D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc

Link to mine...