Test Drive of 718 Boxster S vs my 987.2 S - thoughts

onedesi

Well today I was lucky enough to be given a test drive in a new 718 Boxster S and my short summary is - impressive B) BUT !

Before I start I am not a pro driver (many people can attest to that here who have seen me drive :D) and these are just my musings so no offence meant to anyone.

I drove to the OPC in my 987.2S and my expectation was to be disappointed by the 718, after all its only a 4 pot so how good can it be ????

The car itself was a PDK one with the PSE and as we drove out the interior reminded me of the 981 with a lot more buttons, I mean a lot more buttons - the steering wheel had way too many buttons on it I much prefer the the simplicity of my PDK paddle wheel on the 987.  The Audi influence is clear to see.

Drive wise, it felt very light and agile and I put this down to the electric steering, the lack of weight for me was unnerving but damn this car was good on the twisty's.

The noise, the sound is really gruff and the car barks at you but if I didn't own an older boxster this wouldn't put me off, it was really quite fun although the PSE just amplifies the sound and it was too much in a bad way, the extra volume made the cabin uncomfortable so I switched it off - standard is more than enough for this engine.

I really enjoyed driving it and when we got back I paused to sum up my thoughts - my conclusion is, it is not worth the upgrade cost of c.£45k from my current car to get an improved interior - driving back I pushed my car and it felt great, a bit more weighty and possibly a little less compliant than the 718 as well as having a poorer interior but where it matters, the drive, my car was equally as good if not marginally better in my eyes!

So for me an "update" to a 718 isn't worth it (it definitely isn't an upgrade) but for those who have and for new to Porsche owners its a cracking little car so congrats :thumbsup_still: