2005-2007 (ish) 3.2 987S - which IMS?

steve_gus

Hi,

Newbie here going through the usual "Is the IMS something I need to worry about" pre purchase worries.

Looking at the online survey conducted here since 2008, trying to see what are actual failures, I see approx 3 2.7 failures (pre 2005) two 2.5 failures and a predominance of 3.2 failures (9). Ive tried to weed out as best as possible what were preventative changes and are actual failures.

So, although Id like a 3.2, these look like a bigger risk than the later 2.7 post 2005 large bearing change.

However, the 2005 on 3.2 is _supposed_ to have also got the large bearing (3rd type) before it was replaced by the 3.4 (with bore scoring, so im not getting one of those). So it looks like a very narrow window of 3.2 between mid 2005 (when the bearing changed?) to sometime late 2006-early 2007 before the 3.4 replaced it.

However, there doesnt seem to be any information anywhere that states the 3.2 got the new bearing, and many on-line sources seem to doubt the 3.2 ever got the bigger 3rd type bearing. There is a picture of whats supposed to be an extract from Porsche docs that say 3.2 after engine 62.504095 has the larger bearing, but some people doubt this is actually a Porsche document.

Anyone got a clue which bearing is in the last of the 3.2?  Dont bother with a "just buy it and enjoy it" answer, as im not a gambler!  If i cant figure the 3.2 bearing size out, its going to be a play safe 2.7 choice.

ta

steve

The survey is rubbish. People did not distinguish in their answers between catastrophic failure and weeping seal.

We put a sticky thread at the top of technical which quoted the Porsche engine numbers from the US settlement. If you don't believe that then I don't see what a bunch of anonymous randoms on the web can say which is more persuasive.

Buy a 2.7 :)