LED road legal conversion - who's done one?

driving_james

Hi - I'm a newbie and after a fun couple of weeks with my newly acquired 05 987 - see my post , I've now had the opportunity to do a few drives at night. 

And oh boy I was surprised how ineffectual my dipped and main beams were! Admittedly it was a very dark rainy night, but with my dipped lights I could hardly see a thing.
Now I realise the beams could need adjusting, but it was the low quality of light that most troubled me.

I've seen a few threads about LED conversions, but I can't find anything that gives clarity on what to go for - namely I'd like to be LED road legal and not completely blind oncoming traffic, 

I'm also considering LED for: 
- dipped (H7)
- high beam (H9)
- front fogs (H8)
- daytime running lights (?)
No idea about rear lights e.g. brake lights / indicators / rear fog light or even if they do LED for these

So my question is - has anyone done the whole set? 

Was it worth doing? 

And what (road legal) bulbs did you use and finally, where did you buy them?

Thanks a million!

Edited by driving_james

On my 05 car I swapped the dipped beams to Phillips Ultinon LEDs. They're not the cheapest but they were very simple to fit and I've had no issues with fault codes. And they're a big improvement on the originals with no complaints from oncoming cars.

In theory LED bulbs are not road legal unless you have self levelling and headlight washers. However, mine went through its last MOT with no issues at all. After all, with projector lenses you can't see by looking what bulbs are fitted.

I can't speak for changing all the other lights over so I'll leave that to others.

i presume you're currently running halogens, if you're looking to upgrade to LEDs?