Got a 987 - nearly

penrhos

I posted on 29 May that I was on the lookout for a manual 987 2.7 and have been looking at least twice daily on Autotrader, Pistonheads, Carguru, Facebook, EBay and on here. Nothing scientific about this but for me Facebook (at 65 I am not a prolific Facebook user!) seemed to bring more cars of interest to my attention than any other source. Anyway, having always searched nationally I saw one today just 40 minutes drive away and we agreed a price subject to it getting through its MOT tomorrow.

It's a 2008 2.7 (not sport edition) with a decent service history in Basalt/black leather with 72k miles on it. It has the only 2 must have's for me which are heated seats and rear parking sensors. Pretty cool seller, possibly thought I just toodle along due to my age 😀, tossed me the keys pointed me in the direction of the "Top Gear" road on the Beacons and me and the Mrs were off!

Having not bought a 12 year old car since I was in my teens (Triumph Herald, HEU982 I think, which I bought for £30, had it 2 weeks and my brother in law wrote it off and gave me £50 to lessen my disappointment) I needed to get my expectations sorted. The car is far from perfect but there are no dents or rust anywhere. There is a tiny bit of peeling lacquer on the off side rear quarter and the front  bumper will need a respray due to stone chips if it is to match the rest of the car. The interior release for the bonnet doesn't work, it opens on the key, so I will have to investigate that. The only other issue is that the drivers seat bolster has a couple of small holes in the leather which will need sorting. The car handled really well on front tyres that have seen better days - no sign of steering wheel wobble even under hard braking. Gear changes were smooth and the clutch was light having been renewed within the last couple of years. The engine sounded good but I am no expert.