Advice & Tips for Plugs change

Daboy3000

I am thinking of changing the plugs and coil packs (if needed) myself.  I am fine when it comes to taking things apart and putting them back together, but do struggle when things go a bit wrong, like stuck suspension bolts.  I would say I am a 6/10 DIY mechanic.  I've watched a few videos and it does look pretty simple.

Do you think I should just go for it?  Any disaster stories?

I haven't' done my own but I did help @987RG do his plugs and coil packs on his 987.  One plug was very reluctant to undo.  We had a conversation about the consequences of snapping the plug and the cost of taking the engine out 😱.  Fortunately, with some carefully applied torque on a long bar, it eventually gave and came out OK with a massive sigh of relief from both of us! 

E10 female Torx socket for the coil pack bolts IIRC.   Get Beru coil packs, decent prices on eBay. 

Torques from Porsche M96 engine workshop manual:

New plug - tighten to 30Nm first, then to 33Nm. Refitting old plug tighten to 25Nm, then to 30Nm (crush washer will have crushed on first fitting)

Coil pack bolts 10Nm

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Yep, did mine on my last 986 with no dramas.

You need a relatively deep plug socket/extension but to be honest probably took longer to get the car up and wheels off to access them than to change the plugs and coils. As @1/2cwt says above, I used Beru coils, sourced from eBay.

Be careful with the clips on the coil plugs as they can go brittle due to heat and also lightly screw the plugs in by hand on the socket so they don't cross-thread as with any aluminium head.

My coils were badly cracked and crusty which is probably common due to their inhospitable location.

Good luck, sure you'll be fine 👍

• Thanks 1