Spraying centre console

Goody1664

Good evening everyone, I’m a recent newbie with a 2004 986 in arctic silver with metropole blue Interior. I’m exploring options to spray the centre console silver, and would like to know if anyone has recommendations for what paint to use? Would a standard can of Arctic silver paint suffice, or would i need specific vinyl spray?

There are a couple of You Tube vids on this.  There may even be a How To on here if you check out that section.  Main thing it getting off the slightly rubbery finish that Porsche in their wisdom applied to the interior but that marks up so easily.  From what I recall the tips as use the right primer too then ordinary car paint buuilt up in several light coats, (first one hardly a dusting) and lacquer it too.

11 hours ago, Goody1664 said:

Good evening everyone, I’m a recent newbie with a 2004 986 in arctic silver with metropole blue Interior. I’m exploring options to spray the centre console silver, and would like to know if anyone has recommendations for what paint to use? Would a standard can of Arctic silver paint suffice, or would i need specific vinyl spray?

If the 986 is anything like the 987 then the most important thing, as suggested above, is to completely remove the rubberised coating. I used acetone based nail varnish remover (cheap from Boits/Superdrug) and Scotch type pads worked best. Do a search for centre console and you'll find my posts and others. I used a high build primer to cater for any remaining minor abrasions, standard base coat then I went for Satin Lacquer as i didn't want a high shine. Some good videos on Youtube including this one 

He also has another one about painting interior plastics on his Customspraymods channel.

Seeing as you're in Devon you could come and join the Exmoor & Dartmorr run next weekend if you want to see how mine turned out.