Limited slip diff 987.2

Slurms

Hey All, 

Anyone retro fitted an LSD to a gen 2 987? I've heard there is a rare factory option for the LSD (which my car doesn't have) and as i'm doing a few more track days this year i'm thinking about getting one to improve the cars performance. 

There's quite a few different options but very rarely done here. Wavetrac, Gripper, Kaaz, Guard are a few others from memory. 

4 minutes ago, Menoporsche said:

Seriously?!!

You have more jam than an entire supermarket aisle…

Why do you think I registered my interest as soon (may be before) he got it!!!

I've no experience of this but I've read the OE Porsche diffs are as good as dead after a good few miles on them. 

• Haha 1

3 hours ago, edc said:

I've no experience of this but I've read the OE Porsche diffs are as good as dead after a good few miles on them. 

And there are no service parts listed in the parts cat...  only whole gearboxes.

5 hours ago, ½cwt said:

Quaife

I’ve heard good things about them from some of my friends who’ve tracked BMWs. Just hoping for a bit of real world feedback before I drop a load of cash on it. 

doing the front strut brace mod next week I hope.  My car appears to be one of the ones that has the turret mounts so that’s a cheaper upgrade. 

1 minute ago, Slurms said:

I’ve heard good things about them from some of my friends who’ve tracked BMWs. Just hoping for a bit of real world feedback before I drop a load of cash on it. 

doing the front strut brace mod next week I hope.  My car appears to be one of the ones that has the turret mounts so that’s a cheaper upgrade. 

@map is one of the very few here who have done it. 

36 minutes ago, Slurms said:

34 minutes ago, edc said:

@map is one of the very few here who have done it. 

Looked at both locking and torque biasing (TBD) differentials for my 986. Settled on the TBD variant following advice from Parr who looked after my car at the time.